solutionsdanax.blogg.se

Read for me program
Read for me program









read for me program

Fact is, the ingredients of a good crime story-compelling characters, authentic setting, a twisty plot, and a liberal sprinkle of fun-are in our midst.

READ FOR ME PROGRAM SERIES

“It sometimes strikes me that as we look far and wide for suspense that will captivate us for the duration of a novel or a Netflix series we should look in our own backyard.

read for me program

Mill Town delivers insights that go far beyond its geographic bounds. That book was translated into a half-dozen languages as readers across the world found life lessons in a crime novel set in this startling place. This mill town had an outsized influence on me, including serving as the setting for my first mystery novel, Deadline.

read for me program

I read the book in very few sittings, feeling that with every page I was gaining new understanding of the community and the people who live there. With a native’s experience and an outsider’s perspective, Arsenault explores mill town culture and the human cost of its irreplaceable prosperity. Rumford and its downwind sister town, Mexico, are complicated places, a blend of fierce independence juxtaposed with the reality of a one-employer town. Just a page into Mill Town the experience of living and working in that extraordinary western Maine community came rushing back. “My first newspaper job was with the Rumford Falls Times, the weekly newspaper in Rumford, Maine, where I worked for a few months 40 years ago. Mill Town: Reckoning with What Remains by Kerri Arsenault

  • Support libraries in their work to provide quality adult summer reading initiatives.
  • Connect Maine’s adult reading community through shared reading experiences.
  • All that’s required is a commitment to making each of the featured titles available to their patrons. Read ME is structured to enable even the smallest, most rural libraries to participate. Over 70 libraries participated in the 2021 program featuring the Gerry Boyle recommended Mill Town: Reckoning with What Remains ( Kerri Arsenault) and Mainely Power ( Matt Cost). Every summer, the program gets Maine adults all reading two books recommended by a well-known Maine author. Read ME is the Maine Humanities Council’s statewide community read.











    Read for me program